, , ,

Environmental impact assessment

An environmental impact assessment (EIA) is required for public or private construction projects or activities that could potentially cause ecological imbalances. This assessment is approved by the Secretariat for Sustainable Development (SEDESU).

The EIA is carried out before the project begins in order to determine the necessary measures. For example, the EIA for companies working with hazardous substances is carried out before the start of operations to assess environmental impacts and determine whether a risk assessment is required. The average processing time is 60 working days.


The table below shows the types of activities for which an EIA is required:


  1. public works projects with negative environmental impacts
  2. highways and roads
  3. industrial parks
  4. exploitation and use of material banks
  5. public or private tourism developments
  6. final waste disposal facilities
  7. hydraulic works
  8. works or activities in protected natural areas that do not fall under federal jurisdiction
  9. housing estates and residential areas
  10. industrial activities
  11. agroindustrial areas of half a hectare or more
  12. storage and parking lots for vehicles
  13. commercial and service projects with an area of half a hectare or more
  14. all other projects which, due to their nature, have a potentially negative environmental impact